Food & cake

Following up on my last post about the site recce that my fiancè and I did before the meetup with my caterer, we met up with the caterer 2 days later. I was glad that we had prepared what we wanted to show them coz it will just ease the discussion.

Mama and papa were supposed to be in attendance during the meetup but they disappeared to send my youngest sis and her children back home. My youngest sis and her children came to spend the CNY weekend with us but since my caterer was coming, she did not want her rowdy children to interfere with the discussion. Lol So it was just my fiancè, my younger sis and me and not forgetting the caterer and her husband. Oh my nenek was there too but she was just being an active listener.

My caterer wanted to finalise the food options but I told her that she would have to ask my mum coz I left the food decisions entirely up to my mum. I’m not fussy about food. So we moved the topic to the decor. My catering package is inclusive of decor. The decor will be done by her contact. I am not sure what’s the name of the decor company but looking at past pelamins that they had done, I am pretty satisfied.

Let me side track abit. Initially, I wanted to engage KAJ coz I love their drapes! Lawah kaoz! But it seems like they are no longer active. I waited for their decor package macam buah durian emas nak jatuh. Which is like.. never gonna happen! So I researched the other companies but Ya Allah the prices ar, *GULPS*. So I shelved the idea and just agreed to use my caterer’s contact. (If I decided not to engage them, my caterer will take $1k off the package price for reimbursement. Which I find is fair enough.) So from like 2014 till end 2015, I was having an internal war. Should I just take that $1k and use it to deposit for another decor vendor? Do I really wanna spend $x on decor alone? I almost gave in and engaged Bungasutra coz their price is really reasonable. But in the end, I decided that I rather use that $x on my honeymoon and that I shouldn’t waste more money on something like that. I had to console myself alot that I am doing the right thing.

Anyway, we told them about our chair and colour preferences and she told us to leave it to them how they will do up the mph. So I hope to be pleasantly surprised. But I don’t actually have high expectations. Yer lar dorang bukan SID ke Anggun ke dot dot dot ke.. Lol After we discussed, we went down to recce the mph and share with the caterer our layout plan. Alhamdulillah the caterer agreed to our plan and at the end of the day, semua orang happy. My mum go the mph she wanted. We compromised by rearranging the layout to fit everything. Syukur alhamdulillah.

My caterer also gave me a freebie! She told me to pick either a wedding cake or sireh dara. Originally, I picked wedding cake. Coz I reasoned that wedding cake is more expensive than a sireh dara kan? But of course, I changed my mind ever since I saw naked cakes! Lol

Pic credit: @tome____

Masya Allah lawahnyerrrr! Anyway, I think naked cakes are perfect for mph weddings. And naked cakes lent abit of a rustic feel donchathink? So I asked around and finally decided on a cake vendor! The price is reasonable, it includes delivery, setup and clean up. And I have personally gone down on my off day to buy several cakes and sampled them. Yummy lei! So alhamdulillah cake da settle!

Leave a comment